in alleyways of cities

In alleyways of cities
I run towards the light, catching it
and trying, I am

I’m running in a maze
Blood is rushing to my face
Cramps in my toes, my sole is bruised
My nails are black
Like my mind–a void

I run and I pant
But I run and run
And run and run
Too fast, I’m fading

slurry paintings, floating letters

They hang suspended
Like morning dust in rays of light
Sunsets and orange skies
Pictures and smiles
Portraits in black and white
They frown at me, but why
I search their glassy eyes
An angry sea in the middle of the night
Waves towering over me

crashing

I open my eyes
A white light blinding me

Leave a Reply

